

SACMAT 2007

CALL FOR PAPERS

12th ACM SYMPOSIUM ON ACCESS CONTROL MODELS AND TECHNOLOGIES (SACMAT 2007) Sophia Antipolis, France, June 20-22, 2007 URL: www.sacmat.org

SCOPE

Papers offering novel research contributions in any aspect of access control are solicited for submission to the Twelfth ACM Symposium on Access Control Models and Technologies (SACMAT). SACMAT 2007 is the twelfth of a successful series of symposia that continue the tradition, first established by the ACM Workshop on Role-Based Access Control, of being the premier forum for presentation of research results and experience reports on leading edge issues of access control, including models, systems, applications, and theory. The missions of the symposium are to share novel access control solutions that fulfill the needs of heterogeneous applications and environments and to identify new directions for future research and development. SACMAT gives researchers and practitioners a unique opportunity to share their perspectives with others interested in the various aspects of access control.

TOPICS OF INTEREST

Access control models and extensions Access control requirements Access control design methodology Access control mechanisms, systems, and tools Access control in distributed and mobile systems Access control for innovative applications Administration of access control policies Authorization management Delegation Identity management Safety analysis and enforcement Standards for access control Trust management Trust models Theoretical foundations for access control models Usage control

Accepted papers will be presented at the symposium and published by the ACM in the symposium proceedings. Outstanding papers will be invited for possible publication in ACM Transactions on Information and System Security (TISSEC).

PAPER SUBMISSION

Papers must be written in English. It is recommended that papers use the ACM proceedings format, using one of the ACM SIG Proceeding Templates (<u>http://www.acm.org/sigs/pubs/proceed/template.html</u>). The length of the paper in the proceedings format should not exceed ten US letter pages. Concise papers with innovative ideas will also be considered. Papers should clearly include the identity of the authors and their affiliations (that is, reviewing is not blind). Papers are to be submitted electronically as a single PDF file, formatted for 8.5" X 11" paper, and no more than 5MB in size. It is the responsibility of the authors to ensure that their submission will print easily on simple default configurations. The deadline for paper submission is January 8, 2007(*Deadline extended to January 15, 2007*) Further submission details will be available on-line.

A submitted paper cannot be under review for any other conference or journal while being considered for SACMAT, and must be substantially different from any previously published work.

PANEL PROPOSAL SUBMISSION

Proposals should be no longer than two (2) pages in length, should include possible panelists, indicating those who have confirmed participation. Proposals can be e-mailed to the Panels Chair, Dr. Axel Kern (axel.kern@t-online.de)

INDUSTRY REPORT SUBMISSION

Industry reports describing innovative commercial solutions and requirements for problems related to access control are solicited for presentation at the Symposium. Each accepted report will be presented in a 30-minute speaking slot (including question time). Industry reports are not published in the proceedings but speakers are strongly encouraged to post their presentations on the SACMAT web site. Submissions that do not relate to commercial software or industrial strength prototypes are strongly discouraged. A brief proposal consisting of 1-2 paragraphs describing the proposed talk along with a brief bio of the presenter should be e-mailed to the Industry Reports Chair, Dr. Andreas Schaad (andreas.schaad@sap.com).

IMPORTANT DATES

- Submission of papers: January 8, 2007 (Deadline extended to January 15, 2007)
- Panel proposals: January 8, 2007 (Deadline extended to January 15, 2007)
- Industry report proposals: March 1, 2007
- Notification to authors: March 15, 2007
- Camera-ready copies: April 12, 2007 (Change due to the publication schedule)

SYMPOSIUM OFFICERS

General Chair: Volkmar Lotz (SAP Labs, France)

Program Chair: Bhavani Thuraisingham

Program Committee:	Gail-Joon Ahn (University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA)
	Mike Atallah (Purdue University, USA)
	Vijay Atluri (Rutgers University, USA)
	Jean Bacon (University of Cambridge, UK)
	Steve Barker (King's College, London University, UK)
	Elisa Bertino (Purdue University, USA)
	Konstantin Beznosov (University of British Columbia, Canada)
	Ramaswamy Chandramouli (National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA)
	Michael J. Covington (Intel Corp., USA)
	Jason Crampton (Royal Holloway, University of London, UK)
	Elena Ferrari (University of Insubria at Varese, Italy)
	Arif Ghafoor (Purdue University, USA)
	Trent Jaeger (Pennsylvania State University, USA)
	James Joshi (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
	Christian Jensen (Technical University of Denmark)
	Latifur Khan, University of Texas at Dallas (USA)
	Axel Kern (Beta Systems Software AG, Germany)
	Ninghui Li (Purdue University, USA)
	Patrick McDaniel (Pennsylvania State University, USA)
	Clifford Neuman (University of Southern California, USA)
	Sylvia Osborn (University of Western Ontario, Canada)
	Francesco Parisi-Presicce (George Mason University, USA)
	Jaehong Park (George Mason University, USA)
	Joon S. Park (Syracuse University, USA)
	Indrakshi Ray (Colorado State University) Ravi Sandhu (George Mason University and TriCipher, USA)
	Reiner Sailer (IBM Research, USA)
	Andreas Schaad (SAP Labs, France)
	Dongwan Shin (New Mexico Tech, USA)
	Anoop Singhal, NIST, USA
	Roshan Thomas (McAfee Research, USA)
	Horst Wedde (University of Dortmund, Germany)
	Holde weade (envelopy of bonniana, cerniany)

Panels Chair:	Axel Kern (Beta Systems Software AG, Germany)
Industry Reports Chair:	Andreas Schaad (SAP Labs, France)
Proceedings Chair and Webmaster: Gail-Joon Ahn (University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA)	
Publicity Chair:	Vijay Atluri (Rutgers University, USA)
Treasurer:	Sylvia Osborn (University of Western Ontario, Canada)
Steering Committee:	Chair: Ravi Sandhu (George Mason University and TriCipher, USA) Gail-Joon Ahn (University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA) Vijay Atluri (Rutgers University, USA) Elisa Bertino (Purdue University, USA) David Ferraiolo (National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA) Elena Ferrari (University of Insubria at Como, Italy Trent Jaeger (Pennsylvania State University, USA) Axel Kern (Beta Systems Software AG, Germany) Sylvia Osborn (University of Western Ontario, Canada)

Contact Information for the Program Chair:

Dr. Bhavani Thuraisingham Erik Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science Box 830688, EC 31 University of Texas at Dallas, Richardson, TX 75083-0688 Tel: 972-883-4738 Fax: 972-883-2349 Email: <u>bhavani.thuraisingham@utdallas.edu</u>