

SACMAT 2009

CALL FOR PAPERS

14th ACM SYMPOSIUM ON ACCESS CONTROL MODELS AND TECHNOLOGIES (SACMAT 2009)

Hotel La Palma, Stresa, Italy, June 3-5, 2009 URL: http://www.sacmat.org/

SCOPE

Papers offering novel research contributions in all aspects of access control are solicited for submission to the ACM Symposium on Access Control Models and Technologies (SACMAT). SACMAT 2009 is the fourteenth of a successful series of symposiums that continue the tradition, first established by the ACM Workshop on Role-Based Access Control, of being the premier forum for presentation of research results and experience reports on leading edge issues of access control, including models, systems, applications, and theory. The missions of the symposium are to share novel access control solutions that fulfill the needs of heterogeneous applications and environments and to identify new directions for future research and development. SACMAT gives researchers and practitioners a unique opportunity to share their perspectives with others interested in the various aspects of access control.

Accepted papers will be presented at the symposium and published by the ACM in the symposium proceedings. Outstanding papers will be invited for possible publication in a prestigious journal in information assurance area.

Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

- · Access control models and extensions
- · Access control requirements
- · Access control design methodology
- Access control mechanisms, systems, and tools
- Access control in distributed and mobile systems
- Access control for innovative applications
- Administration of access control policies
- Delegation

- Identity management
- Policy/Role Engineering
- · Safety analysis and enforcement
- Standards for access control
- · Trust management
- Trust models
- · Theoretical foundations for access control
- Usage control

PAPER SUBMISSION (URL: http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=sacmat2009)

Papers must be written in English. We require that the authors use the ACM format for papers, using one of the ACM SIG Proceeding Templates (http://www.acm.org/sigs/pubs/proceed/template.html). The length of the paper in the proceedings format should not exceed ten US letter pages, excluding well-marked appendices. Committee members are not required to read the appendices, so papers must be intelligible without them. Papers are to be submitted electronically as a single PDF file, formatted for 8.5" X 11" paper, and no more than 5MB in size. It is the responsibility of the authors to ensure that their submission will print easily on simple default configurations. Papers should clearly include the identity of the authors and their affiliations (that is, reviewing is not blind). Further submission details will be available on-line.

All submissions **MUST** reflect original work and **MUST** adequately document any overlap with previously published or simultaneously submitted papers from any of the authors. Failure to do so will lead to automatic rejection. In particular, simultaneous submission of the same paper to another conference or journal venue is not allowed. If authors have any doubts regarding such overlaps, they should contact the Program Chair before submission.

PANEL PROPOSAL SUBMISSION

Panel proposals should be no longer than two (2) pages in length, and should include possible panelists, indicating those who have confirmed participation. Proposals can be e-mailed to the Panels Chair, Dr. Konstantin Beznosov (beznosov@ece.ubd.ca).

Submission URL: http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=sacmat2009

IMPORTANT DATES

Paper submission due: January 16, 2009 Extended to January 23, 2009

(11:59PM Pacific time)

Panel proposal submission due: January 16, 2009 Extended to January 23, 2009 (11:59PM Pacific time)

March 6, 2009 Notification to authors: Camera-ready submission due: March 31, 2009

PROGRAM COMMITTEE MEMBERS (Tentative)

- 1. Gail-Joon Ahn (Arizona State University, USA)
- 2. Mike Atallah (Purdue University, USA)

- Vijay Atluri (Rutgers University, USA)
 Jean Bacon (University of Cambridge, UK)
 Steve Barker (King's College, London University, UK)
- 6. Lujo Bauer (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
- 7. Elisa Bertino (Purdue University, USA)
- 8. Konstantin Beznosov (University of British Columbia, Canada)
- 9. Ramaswamy Chandramouli (National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA)
- 10. Michael J. Covington (Intel Corp., USA)
- 11. Jason Crampton (Royal Holloway, University of London, UK)
- 12. David M. Eyers (University of Cambridge, UK)
- 13. Elena Ferrari (University of Insubria at Como, Italy)
- 14. David Ferraiolo (NIST, USA)
- 15. Trent Jaeger (Pennsylvania State University, USA)
- 16. Christian Jensen (Technical University of Denmark)
- 17. Axel Kern (Beta Systems Software AG, Germany)
- 18. Yuecel Karabulut (SAP, USA)
- 19. Ninghui Li (Purdue University, USA)
- 20. Adam Lee (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
- 21. Patrick McDaniel (Pennsylvania State University, USA)
- 22. Clifford Neuman (University of Southern California, USA)
- 23. Surya Nepal (CSIRO, Australia)
- 24. Sylvia Osborn (University of Western Ontario, Canada)
- 25. Francesco Parisi-Presicce (George Mason University, USA)
- 26. Joon S. Park (Syracuse University, USA)
- 27. Indrakshi Ray (Colorado State University, USA)
- 28. Reiner Sailer (IBM Research, USA)
- 29. Andreas Schaad (SAP Labs, France)
- 30. Mohamed Shehab (University of North Carolina, Charlotte, USA)
- 31. Anna Cinzia Squicciarini (Penn State University, USA)
- 32. Dongwan Shin (New Mexico Tech, USA)
- 33. Bhavani Thuraisingham (University of Texas at Dallas, USA)
- 34. Mahesh Tripunitara (University of Waterloo, Canada)
- 35. Jaideep Vaidya (Rutgers University, USA)
- 36. William H. Winsborough (University of Texas at San Antonio, USA)
- 37. Ting Yu (North Carolina State University, USA)
- 38. Xinwen Zhang (Samsung Information Systems America, USA)

SYMPOSIUM OFFICERS

General ChairBarbara Carminati(University of Insubria, Italy)Program ChairJames Joshi(University of Pittsburgh, USA)

Panels ChairKonstantin Beznosov(University of British Columbia, Canada)Proceedings ChairJason Crampton(Royal Holloway, University of London, UK)

Publicity ChairGail-Joon Ahn(Arizona State University, USA)TreasurerVijay Atluri(Rutgers University, USA)

Steering Committee Chair Gail-Joon Ahn (Arizona State University, USA)

Steering Committee Axel Kern (Beta Systems Software AG, Germany)

Bhavani Thuraisingham (University of Texas at Dallas, USA)
Indrakshi Ray (Colorado State University, USA)

Ninghui Li (Purdue University, USA)
James Joshi (University of Pittsburgh, USA)

Contact Information for the Program Chair:

Dr. James Joshi Email: jjoshi@sis.pitt.edu School of Information Sciences Phone: 412-624-9982 University of Pittsburgh Fax: 412-624-2788

Pittsburgh, PA 15260